2017 Alberta Mathematics Dialogue (AMD)

  • Start Date: 05/04/2017
  • End Date: 05/05/2017

MacEwan University


The Alberta Mathematics Dialogue (AMD) emerged naturally from the Alberta Colleges Mathematics Conference (ACMC) and the North-South Dialogue (NSD). In 2017 the AMD will be in its fourth run, and the conference already captured the interest of a growing number of faculty, students, postdocs, high school teachers, members from Alberta Education, and other people with aligned interests working in industry, publishing, physics, or computer science. For two days, the conference will offer plenary talks from experts in fields of mathematics and statistics, pedagogy & teaching sessions and workshops, and research sessions. The intention of the conference is to bring people with a passion in mathematics and statistics to share their teaching and research knowledge and expertise.






Plenary Speakers

John Braun, University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus, Statistics.

Rob Deardon, University of Calgary, Biostatistics.

John O’Connor, MacEwan University, Teaching & Pedagogy.

Kevin Painter, Heriot Watt University, Mathematical Biology.

Vladyslav Yaskin, University of Alberta, Analysis. 


Ion Bica, MacEwan University, Principal Organizer

Karen Buro, MacEwan University

Thomas Hillen, University of Alberta

Hassan Safouhi, University of Alberta, Campus Saint-Jean

Pamimi Thangarajah, Mount Royal University

Peter Zvengrowski, University of Calgary

Other Information: 

Location: MacEwan University, Alberta


Main Site with registration and local information.


Final scientific report available here.