Call for Nominations: 2014 PIMS Education Prize

  • Date: 01/28/2014

The Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences is now accepting nominations for the 2014 PIMS Education Prize. The winner receives $1000.


The prize will be awarded to a member of the PIMS community who has made a significant contribution to education in the mathematical sciences. This prize is intended to recognize individuals from the PIMS universities, or other educational institutions in Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan who have played a major role in encouraging activities which have enhanced public awareness and appreciation of mathematics, as well as fostering communication among various groups and organizations concerned with mathematical training at all levels.


Sponsors are to provide a cover letter explaining the nominee's contribution, impact and relevance for the prize. The nomination should also include a CV of the nominee, including publications, a brief summary of major accomplishments and relevant samples of the nominee's work, such as reprints or educational materials.


Nominations received last year will automatically be considered for this year's prize.


Nominations should be sent  (in a single pdf file) via email to by March 15, 2014


Only electronic submissions will be accepted.


The prize will be selected by the PIMS Executive Committee which is composed of the PIMS Site Directors. The results will be announced in April, 2014.


Previous winners of the PIMS Education Prize:

N. Kouzniak (SFU)

M.Maclean (UBC)

V.Jungic (SFU)

A.Liu (UAlberta) Vries (UAlberta)

H.Weston (URegina)

V.Warfield (UWashington)

S.Friesen (UCalgary)

M.Dubiel (SFU)

W.Sands (UCalgary)

G.Bluman (UBC)

W.Krawcewicz (UAlberta)

K.Hoechsmann (UBC)

T.Lewis (UAlberta)

D.Leeming (UVictoria)

J.Morrow (UWashington).