2020 CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize: Call for Nominations

  • Date: 08/28/2019

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM), the Fields Institute, and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) invite nominations for the joint CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize, awarded in recognition of exceptional research achievement in the mathematical sciences. The candidate's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university.

The prize was established as the CRM-Fields prize in 1994. Renamed in 2005, the 2006 and later prizes are awarded jointly by all three institutes.

The selection committee formed by the three institutes will select a recipient on the basis of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the mathematical sciences, with excellence in research as the main selection criterion.

A monetary prize will be awarded and the recipient will be asked to present a lecture at each of CRM, the Fields Institute, and PIMS.

Nominations should be submitted by November 1st 2019, by at least two sponsors of recognized stature, and should include the following elements: three supporting letters, curriculum vitae, list of publications, and up to four preprints. Nominations will remain active for two years. During any academic year, at most one prize will be awarded.

Nominations can be submitted by completing the online form here.

Previous winners of the CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize:
2020 - Catherine Sulem, University of Toronto
2019 - Nassif Ghoussoub, University of British Columbia
2018 - Jeremy Quastel, University of Toronto
2017 - Henri Darmon, McGill University
2016 - Daniel Wise, McGill University
2015 - Kai Behrend, University of British Columbia
2014 - Niky Kamran, Université McGill

2013 - Bruce Reed, Université McGill

2012 - Stevo Todorcevic, University of Toronto

2011 - Mark Lewis, University of Alberta

2010 - Gordon Slade, University of British Columbia

2009 - Martin Barlow, University of British Columbia

2008 - Allan Borodin, University of Toronto

2007 - Joel S. Feldman, University of British Columbia

2006 - Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann, University of Alberta