Inaugural Class of AMS Fellows Includes 31 Faculty From PIMS Universities

  • Date: 11/15/2012

The Fellows of the American Mathematical Society program recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. On November 1, 2012, the inaugural class was announced.

The list of Fellows from PIMS universities includes:

Alejandro Adem (University of British Columbia)
Martin Thomas Barlow (University of British Columbia)
Sara C. Billey (University of Washington)
David William Boyd (University of British Columbia)
Krzysztof Burdzy (University of Washington)
James B. Carrell (University of British Columbia)
William Allen Casselman (University of British Columbia)
Ioana Dumitriu (University of Washington)
Gerald B. Folland (University of Washington)
Ailana M. Fraser (University of British Columbia)
Ramesh Gangolli (University of Washington)
Nassif Ghoussoub (University of British Columbia)
C. Robin Graham (University of Washington)
Ralph Greenberg (University of Washington)
Branko Grunbaum (University of Washington)
Izabella Laba (University of British Columbia)
Randall J. LeVeque (University of Washington)
Douglas Lind (University of Washington)
Ernest A. Michael (University of Washington)
Stephen A. Mitchell (University of Washington)
Isaac Namioka (University of Washington)
Robert E. O'Malley (University of Washington)
Robert R. Phelps (University of Washington)
Ian F. Putnam (University of Victoria)
Zinovy Reichstein (University of British Columbia)
Maurice Sion (University of British Columbia)
Gordon Slade (University of British Columbia)
Boris Solomyak (University of Washington)
Rekha R. Thomas (University of Washington)
Gunther Uhlmann (University of Washington)
James J. Zhang (University of Washington)

The application period for the first annual election process will be February 1, 2013 - March 30, 2013.

Visit for more details.