2017 Seminaire de Mathematiques Superieures

  • Start Date: 06/10/2017
  • End Date: 06/21/2017

Centre de Recherches Mathématiques


Contemporary Dynamical System


This is an annual summer school in pure and applied mathematics that has taken place for more than fifty years on the campus of the University of Montreal. Focused on a hot current research topic, the SMS brings together extremely high quality lecturers and students from all over the world. The school is targeted towards mainly advanced graduate students and it consists of roughly 12 courses of around five one-hour lectures each spread over two weeks. The courses are attended by around 40 to 60 students selected on a competitive basis. The lectures are published in a volume after the end of the meeting. Financial support for the accepted students is available.



The school usually takes place yearly in June or July on the campus of the University of Montreal. Initiated in 1961 by the Mathematics and Statistics department of the Université de Montréal the school was initially funded by the NATO science program. Since 2011, the school has as main partner the CRM and is a joint endeavor of the Canadian Mathematical Institutes (CRM, Fields, PIMS) together with the MSRI. It also receives the support of the ISM, of the UdeM as well as that of the CMS.



Thomas ‎Barthelmã, Queen's University

Sylvain Crovisier, Université de Paris-Sud (France)

Konstantin Khanin, University of Toronto (Canada)

Patrice Le Calvez, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris (France)

Andrés Navas, University of Santiago (Chile)

Enrique Pujals, IMPA (Brazil)

Jean-François Quint, Université de Bordeaux (France)

Juan Rivera-Letelier, University of Rochester (USA)

Federico Rodrigues-Hertz, Penn State University (USA)

Christiane Rousseau, Université de Montréal (Canada)

Ferrán Valdez, Universidad Nacional Autónoma (Mexico)

Marcelo Viana, IMPA (Brazil)

Amie Wilkinson, University of Chicago (USA)


Sylvain Crovisier (CNRS, Paris)
Konstantin Khanin (Totonto)
Andrés Navas (Santiago de Chile)
Christiane Rousseau (Montreal)
Marcelo Viana (IMPA, Rio de Janeiro)
Amie Wilkinson (Chicago)

Other Information: 

For more information, please see event webpage here.



Full scientific report available here.