Theory Canada 7

  • Start Date: 06/07/2012
  • End Date: 06/09/2012

Sessions & Invited Speakers


Gravitation, Cosmology & Astrophysics
Harald Pfeiffer (CITA)
Levon Pogosian (Simon Fraser)
Quantum Gravity & Strings
Keshav Dasgupta (McGill)
Cecilia Flori (Perimeter)
Subatomic & Mathematical Physics
Thomas Grégoire (Carleton)
Pierre Mathieu (Laval)
Quantum Physics & Information
Giulio Chiribella (Perimeter)
Barry Sanders (Calgary)
Condensed Matter & General Theory
Jordan Kyriakiris (Dalhousie)
Gordon Semenoff (UBC)


University of Lethbridge


The 7th Theory Canada conference will take place at the University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.


The Theory Canada meeting is a national conference in theoretical physics, organized by the Division of Theoretical Physics (DTP) of the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP).  It is offered as a satellite meeting of the CAP Annual Congress, to be held in 11-15 June 2012 at the  University of Calgary.


The Theory Canada conference provides a venue for the Canadian theoretical physics community to meet, interact, and share new research results with colleagues from across the country. Theory Canada 7 will focus on areas of advanced fundamental physics of much current interest: particle physics, nuclear physics, cosmology, classical and quantum gravity, string theory, field theory, mathematical physics and condensed matter theory.


The previous venues for Theory Canada were the University of British Columbia, the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, the Université de Montréal, the University of Alberta, the University of New Brunswick, and the Memorial University of Newfoundland (Corner Brook campus).




Registration deadline is 15 May 2012.

For a talk or a poster, an abstract must be submitted by 30 April 2012.


A list of abstracts will be made available when they are submitted.




The Canadian Journal of Physics (CJP) has agreed to publish the proceedings of Theory Canada 7. All speakers are urged to write up an account of their presentations. The deadline for manuscript submission will be 30 September 2012. Each invited talk will be allotted a maximum of 4 journal pages, and each contributed talk 2. Abstracts of poster presentations will also be published. All contributions to the proceedings will be refereed according to the normal standards and procedures of CJP. The guest editors for this issue will be Saurya Das, Arundhati Dasgupta, Valerio Faraoni and Mark Walton. 




University ResidencesTo reserve a room in the university residences, you must fill out the TC7 room reservation form, and send it to Conference Services, either by e-mail at or by fax at 403-329-5166 (phone: 403-329-2244).


Melissa Wiebe is the TC7 contact person for residence accommodation and conference services. She can be reached at, or 403-329-2650.




Theory Canada 7 covers the accommodation costs of invited speakers. Through the generous support of sponsors, we hope to do the same for all student participants, and provide at least partial support for postdocs. 


Thursday 7 June 2012


7-9 pm                 posters, opening reception, & registration

posters will remain on display throughout conference


Friday 8 June 2012


8:30-9 am            welcome, registration


Session 1: Gravitation, Cosmology, and Astrophysics

9-10 am                session 1 invited

10:30-11:50 am    session 1 contributed


Session 2: Quantum gravity and Strings

1:50-2:50 pm        session 2 invited

3:20-4:40 pm        session 2 contributed


Session 3: Subatomic and Mathematical Physics

5:10-6:10 pm        session 3 invited

7:00 pm                 banquet


Saturday 9 June 2012


8:30-9:50 am        session 3 contributed


Session 4: Quantum Physics and Information

10:20-11:40 am    session 4 contributed

1:40-2:40 pm        session 4 invited


Session 5: Condensed Matter and General Theory

3:10-4:10 pm        session 5 invited

4:40-6:00 pm        session 5 contributed


Sunday 10 June 2012


Excursion and /or transport to Calgary


Saurya Das (U. Lethbridge)

Arundhati Dasgupta (U. Lethbridge, DTP Vice-Chair)

Valerio Faraoni (Bishop’s U., DTP Chair)

Mark Walton (U. Lethbridge,  Chair)

Other Information: 



Please help PIMS to improve the quality of its events and plan for the future by filling out this quick and painless survey.


For more information please visit Theory Canada 7





Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics

U. Lethbridge Faculty of Arts & Science

U. Lethbridge Office of VP Research