New Researchers Conference in Statistics

  • Start Date: 07/27/2010
  • End Date: 07/30/2010

David Banks (Duke University)

Isabelle Blain (Vice-President, Research Grants and Scholarships Directorate NSERC)

Dipak K. Dey (University of Connecticut)

Michelle Dunn (Program Director, National Cancer Institute)

John Gabrosek (Grand Valley State University)

Xuming He (University of Illinois at Urban-Champaign)

Nancy Heckman (University of British Columbia)

Tim Hesterberg (Google)

Michael R. Kosorok (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Carl Schwarz (Simon Fraser University)

Michael Steele (University of Pennsylvania)

David Stoffer (University of Pittsburgh)

Suojin Wang (Texas A&M University)

Harrison H. Zhou (Yale University)



University of British Columbia


The IMS Committee on New Researchers is organizing a meeting of recent or soon to be Ph.D. recipients in Statistics and Probability. This yearly conference provides a unique opportunity for new researchers to exchange research ideas and initiate contacts amongst themselves in an informal setting as well as provide them an opportunity to interact with the invited senior participants. As part of the conference, participants will present talks and posters on their research and discuss interests and professional experiences over meals and social activities.

Abstracts / Downloads / Reports:


Other Information: 

For further information, please visit the official website at