Call for Nominations for the 2009 PIMS Education Prize

  • Date: 01/21/2009

The Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences is now accepting nominations for the 2009 PIMS Education Prize. The prize is $1,000.

The prize will be awarded to a member of the PIMS community who has made a significant contribution to education in the mathematical sciences. This prize is intended to recognize individuals from the PIMS universities, or other educational institutions in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan who have played a major role in encouraging activities which have enhanced public awareness and appreciation of mathematics, as well as fostering communication among various groups and organizations concerned with mathematical training at all levels.


2008 PIMS Education Prize Recipients Virginia Warfield and Harley Weston with Former PIMS Director Ivar Ekeland and PIMS Director Alejandro Adem

Sponsors are to provide a cover letter explaining the nominee's contribution, impact and relevance for the prize. The nomination should also include a CV of the nominee, including publications, a brief summary of major accomplishments, and relevant samples of the nominee's work, such as reprints or educational materials.

Nominations received last year will automatically be considered for this year's prize.

Nominations should be sent via email to or mailed to:

Attention: PIMS Prizes
PIMS Central Office
200 - 1933 West Mall
University of British Columbia
Vancouver BC V6T 1Z2

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2009.

The prize will be selected by the PIMS Executive Committee which is composed of the PIMS Site Directors. The results will be announced in April, 2009.

Previous winners of the PIMS Education Prize are Harley Weston (U.Regina), Virginia Warfield (U.Washington), Sharon Friesen (U.Calgary), Malgorzata Dubiel (SFU), Bill Sands (U.Calgary), George Bluman (UBC), Wieslaw Krawcewicz (U.Alberta), Klaus Hoechsmann (UBC), Ted Lewis (U.Alberta), David Leeming (U.Victoria) and Jim Morrow (U.Washington).