The Hugh C. Morris Lecture Series



The Hugh C. Morris Lecture Series was generously endowed by Dr. Hugh Morris (1932-2012), former Chair of the PIMS Board of Directors, and long-time friend of the mathematical sciences. Dr. Morris had more than 40 years of experience in the mineral industry, including a term as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Imperial Metals, and was a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Dr. Morris was a member of NSERC's Council and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Lithoprobe Project.

Click here to view the speech delivered by Alejandro Adem, PIMS Director, at a memorial gathering in honor of Hugh Morris in January, 2013.




Lecture History:

2014, November 14 (UVic): The Mathematics of Bats

Cedric Villani (University of Lyon & Institut Henri Poincaré)

Cedric Villani is a French mathematician working primarily on partial differential equations and mathematical physics. He was awarded the Fields Medal in 2010.




2013, November 1 (UBC): Can We Choose Optimally? The Neural Dynamics of Decisions

Philip Holmes (Princeton University)

Phil Holmes is a Professor of Mechanics and Applied Mathematics at Princeton University, where he directed the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics until 1997, and again in 2010-11. He is an associated faculty member in the Department of Mathematics and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute.



2012, November 1 (UCalgary): Numbers and Shapes

Henri Darmon (McGill)

Henri Darmon specializes in number theory, working on Hilbert's 12th problem and its relation with the Birch-Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture. He is currently a James McGill Professor of Mathematics at McGill University. He was elected to the Royal Society of Canada in 2003 and in 2008,  awarded the Royal Society of Canada's John L. Synge Award.




2011, November 7 (UBC): Uncertainty quantification and systemic risk

George Papanicolaou (Stanford University)

Prof. George Papanicolaou is a highly regarded applied mathematician, a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, winner of the SIAM von Neumann Prize (2006) and the William Benter Prize in Applied Mathematics (2010).