Prizes - Awards


CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM), the Fields Institute, and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) invite nominations for the CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize in the fall of each year. This is the premier prize for research awarded jointly by the three Canadian mathematics institutes. The winner, selected by a committee appointed by the three institutes, receives a monetary award, and an invitation to present a lecture at each institute within one year after the award is announced.
The prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the mathematical sciences. It was established by the Centre de recherches mathématiques and the Fields Institute as the CRM-Fields prize in 1994. In 2005, PIMS became an equal partner. The name changed to the CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, the award level increased, and the terms of reference were revised. 

The winner's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university. The main selection criterion is outstanding contribution to the advancement of research.
Previous recipients are:
2015 Kai Behrend 
  • 2014 Niky Kamran
  • 2013 Bruce Reed
  • 2012 Stevo Todorcevic
  • 2011 Mark Lewis
  • 2010 Gordon Slade
  • 2009 Martin Barlow
  • 2008 Allan Borodin
  • 2007 Joel Feldman
  • 2006 Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann 

Nominations should be submitted by November 1 every year by at least two sponsors of recognized stature. Nominations will remain active for two years. At most one prize will be awarded during any academic year. The following elements should be included: 

- 3 supporting letters, 
- a curriculum vitae, 
- a list of publications, 
- and up to four preprints. 

Submit nominations Only electronic submissions will be accepted, and complete nominations must be submitted in a single pdf file. 

Further details for this prize may be found here. Please refer to Opportunities for information on the current competition.



PIMS Education Prize

akitaev Every year the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences accepts nominations for the PIMS Education Prize. The prize is $1,000.

The prize will be awarded to a member of the PIMS community who has made a significant contribution to education in the mathematical sciences. This prize is intended to recognize individuals from the PIMS universities, or other educational institutions in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan who have played a major role in encouraging activities which have enhanced public awareness and appreciation of mathematics, as well as fostering communication among various groups and organizations concerned with mathematical training at all levels.

Sponsors are to provide a cover letter explaining the nominee's contribution, impact and relevance for the prize. The nomination should also include a CV of the nominee, including publications, a brief summary of major accomplishments, and relevant samples of the nominee's work, such as reprints or educational materials.

Nominations received in the previous year will automatically be considered for the current year's prize. 

Nominations should be sent via email to: Only electronic submissions will be accepted.

The deadline for nominations is March 15.

The prize will be selected by the PIMS Executive Committee which is composed of the PIMS Site Directors. The results will be announced in April.

Previous winners of the PIMS Education Prize are:

  • 2015 - Dragos Hrimiuc (UA)
  • 2014 - Susan Milner (U Fraser Valley)
  • 2013 - Natalia Kouzniak (SFU)
  • 2012 - Mark MacLean (UBC)
  • 2011 - Veselin Jungic (Simon Fraser U.)
  • 2010 - Andy Liu (U. Alberta)
  • 2009 - Gerda de Vries (U. Alberta)
  • 2008 -  Harley Weston (U. Regina)
  • 2007 - Virginia Warfield (U. Washington)
  • 2006 - Sharon Friesen (U. Calgary)
  • 2005 - Malgorzata Dubiel (SFU)
  • 2004 - Bill Sands (U. Calgary)
  • 2003 - George Bluman (UBC)
  • 2002 - Wieslaw Krawcewicz (U. Alberta)
  • 2001 - Klaus Hoechsmann (UBC)
  • 2000 - Ted Lewis (U. Alberta)
  • 1999 - David Leeming (U. Victoria)
  • 1998 - Jim Morrow (U. Washington). 


Please refer to Opportunities for information on the current competition.


CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award

The Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences are pleased to solicit nominations for the CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award in Applied Mathematics beginning in November of every year. The prize is to be awarded to a researcher fewer than ten years past the date of Ph.D. as of January of the year of the award. The prize recognizes exceptional research in any branch of applied mathematics, interpreted broadly. The nominee should hold a tenure-track position at a Canadian university and the research on which the award is based should have been conducted primarily in Canada.

The award will consist of a cash prize of $1,000 and a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS Annual Meeting. The prize recipient will be invited to deliver a plenary lecture at the CAIMS Annual Meeting in the year of the award.


Nominations must be submitted by January 31  to, and shall consist of:

• a curriculum vitae

• a publication list

• a cover letter explaining the basis of the nomination

• a maximum of three additional letters of support, at least two of which should be from references who are neither former PhD/postdoc mentors nor collaborators. In the case of very interdisciplinary research, the support letters should address the nominee's contributions in both applied mathematics and the area of application.
Only electronic submissions will be accepted.

Unsuccessful nominations for candidates who continue to meet the eligibility criteria may be renominated with an updated CV and publication list, and if desired, new letters of support.

Decisions will be announced in April.

The Award

Previous winners of the CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award are:
  • Jane Hefferman (York U, 2015)
  • Geoff Wild (U Western Ontario, 2014)
  • Serdar Yuksel (Queen's University, 2013)
  • Theodore Kolokolnikov (Dalhousie U., 2012)
  • Adam Oberman (SFU, 2011)
  • Daniel Coombs (UBC, 2010).

Please refer to Opportunities for information on the current competition.