Louis Nirenberg, First Recipient of Chern Medal, to Receive UBC Honorary Degree and Deliver PIMS Distinguished Lecture

  • Date: 10/13/2010

At the International Congress of Mathematicians held in Hyderabad, India this past August, Louis Nirenberg, from the Courant Institute for the Mathematical Sciences at New York University, was awarded the inaugural Chern Medal for his role in the formulation of the modern theory of non-linear elliptic partial differential equations and for mentoring numerous students and post-docs in this area.

In addition to this prestigious prize, Professor Nirenberg has received many other awards and honours, including: the American Mathematical Society’s Bôcher Prize in 1959, the Jeffrey-Williams Prize of the Canadian Mathematical Society in 1987, the Steele Prize of the AMS in 1994 for Lifetime Achievement, the Crafoord Prize in 1982 and the US National Medal of Science in 1995. Please see
www.icm2010.in/prize-winners-2010/chern-medal-louis-nirenberg for a full citation.

Professor Nirenberg was born in Hamilton, Ontario and obtained his undergraduate degree from McGill University before emigrating to the United States. He has shown a longstanding interest in the Canadian mathematical community, mentoring and supporting many of our colleagues. This fact and his enormous contributions to the mathematical sciences will be recognized by the University of British Columbia by awarding him an honorary degree during its 2010 Fall Congregation (November 24-26, 2010). On November 26 he will deliver a special PIMS Distinguished Lecture at 3pm at UBC, on "Remarks on singular solutions of nonlinear elliptic equations." Details about his lecture are available at www.pims.math.ca/scientific-event/101126-spdlln.

Everyone is invited to attend and celebrate Louis Nirenberg's wonderful career in mathematics.



 Chern Medal



2010 Chern Medalist, Prof. Louis Nirenberg