CRM Fields PIMS Prize Call for Nominations

  • Date: 10/05/2009

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM), the Fields Institute, and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) invite nominations for the joint CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, in recognition of exceptional research achievement in the mathematical sciences. The candidate's research achievement in the mathematical sciences. The candidate's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university.


The prize was established as the CRM-Fields prize in 1994. Renamed in 2005, the 2006 and later prize were awarded jointly by all three institutes. Previous recipients are: H.S.M. Coxeter, George A. Elliott, James Arthur, Robert Moody, Stephen A. Cook, Israel Michael Sigal, William T. Tutte, John Friedlander, John McKay, Edwin Perkins, Donald Dawson, David Boyd, Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann, Joel Feldman, Allan Borodin and Martin Barlow.

The selection Committee, formed by three institutes, will select a recipient for the 2010 prize on the basis of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the mathematical sciences, with excellence in research as the main selection criterion.


A monetary prize will be awarded, and the recipient will be asked to present a lecture at each of the CRM, the Fields Institute and PIMS.


Nominations should be submitted by November 1, 2009 by at least two sponsors of recognized stature, and should include the following elements: three supporting letters, curriculum vitae, list of publications, and up to four preprints. Nominations will remain active for two years. At most one prize will be awarded during any academic year.


You can submit nominations to:

Only electronic submissions will be accepted.


For details, please visit the following website at