CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize Details

Name and funding of the prize

The prize is called the CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, and consists of an award of $10,000 (with no restriction of use), funded equally by the three institutes, and an invitation to give a lecture at each institute during the semester when the award is announced.

Eligibility, criteria and continuity

The prize was established by the Centre de recherches mathématiques and The Fields Institute as the CRM-Fields prize in 1994. In 2005, PIMS became an equal partner and the name was changed to the CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, and the award level increased. The prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the mathematical sciences.

The winner's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university. It is intended that this be the premier mathematics prize in Canada, and the monetary value attached to the prize reflects this.

The main selection criterion is outstanding contribution to the advancement of research. The nomination deadline is November 1.

What is expected from the laureate

The institutes expect that each laureate give a lecture at each of the three institutes during the semester when the prize is announced.

The Selection committee

The awardee is chosen by a selection committee. The decision of the committee is final.

Nomination and duration of mandate

The committee will be appointed by the scientific panels of the institutes in the following way:

  1. The scientific panel of each of the three institutes will nominate two members, for a total of six members. The members must be mathematicians (in a broad sense) of international stature. The members will not normally be members of the scientific panels of the institutes. Each institute will normally ensure that in each year, at least one of two members that they put forward is working outside Canada
  2. Committee members will serve for staggered two-year terms, Committee members cannot serve consecutive terms, and cannot be reappointed until a period of at least two years has passed. If a committee member ceases to serve before the end of their term, then the institute that appointed them will appoint a replacement to fill the unexpired term.
  3. Each year the committee will elect a member to act as chair. Members may not serve on the committee in any year where a nomination for which they have written a supporting letter is before the committee. The committee will address any other conflicts of interest at the start of the meeting. The committee will act by consensus, and may choose not to award the prize in a given year if no suitable candidate emerges.
  4. Principal responsibility for preparing the call for nominations, beginning the selection process and announcing the winner will circulate among the three institutes, with Fields taking the lead when the process begins in years divisible by 3, CRM in years whose residue is 1 (mod 3) and PIMS in years = 2 (mod 3). This includes circulating a call for nominations to be published in the newsletters of the institutes and of CMS, CAIMS and SSC, in August or September, and preparing a press release to be circulated to the learned societies and the home institution of the awardee.
  5. Timetable:
    • Call for nominations announced: June 1
    • Publication of call in professional journals: August-September
    • Nominations due: November 1
    • Committee deliberations complete: December 1
    • Prize announcement: December CMS Meeting
    • Laureate lectures (usual schedule): The calendar year following the prize award


The committee will have a two-fold mandate: to ensure an outstanding pool of nominations, including solicitation of specific applications; secondly, the committee will be responsible for the selection of the prize winner according to the current criteria of the prize (these criteria and conditions of eligibility must appear in the call for proposals). The committee is encouraged to award the prize to a single person, but can also, exceptionally, award the prize to more than one person or choose to give no award. The committee's decision is final.