PIMS Welcomes New Board Members

  • Date: 04/22/2013

PIMS is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members to our Board of Directors.The PIMS Board of Directors is responsible for oversight of all aspects of PIMS.

The new members are:

Samuel Gray (Chief Scientist, CGG, Calgary) norberthaunerland

Samuel Gray received his B.S. from Georgetown University and his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Denver. He worked at the U. S. Naval Research Lab and General Motors Institute (now Kettering University) before joining the oil and gas industry in 1982. After several years at Amoco and BP in research and production roles, he joined Veritas (now CGG) in 1999. His early work on the theory of inverse scattering prepared him for a career studying seismic processing techniques, which have the goal of turning data recorded on the Earth’s surface into information about the subsurface. His work on seismic imaging has been recognized with a number of awards, including several best paper awards in geophysical journals and international conferences. In 2010, he received the Reginald Fessenden Award from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) for his work on true-amplitude seismic imaging. In 2012, he was the SEG’s Spring Distinguished Lecturer, presenting “A brief history of depth…and time seismic imaging”

Yuval Peres (Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research) Yuval Peres

Yuval Peres is a Principal Researcher in the Theory group at Microsoft Research, Redmond (MSR). Before joining MSR in 2006, he was a Professor in the Statistics and Mathematics Departments at UC Berkeley.

He has also taught at Yale and at the Hebrew University. Yuval has published more than 200 papers with 100 co-authors and has mentored 19 PhD theses. His research encompasses many areas of probability theory, including random walks, Brownian motion, percolation, point processes and random graphs, as well as connections with ergodic theory, PDE, combinatorics, fractals and theoretical computer science. He has recently co-authored books on Markov chains and mixing times, on zeros of Gaussian analytic functions, and on Brownian motion. Yuval is a fellow of the American Math Society and of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. He received the Rollo Davidson Prize in 1995, the Loeve prize in 2001 and was a co-recipient of the David Robbins prize in 2011. Yuval was an invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematics (2002) and in the European Congress of Mathematics (2008). He delivered the Porter Lectures at Rice University in 2009 and the De-Long lectures at the University of Colorado in 2013.

John F.H. Thompson (Consultant, PetraScience Consultants Inc. and Professor, Cornell University) johnthompson

John Thompson obtained his BA from Oxford University and then moved to Canada where he completed his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Toronto. In 1982 he joined the BP Minerals group in Australia to work in mineral exploration, subsequently moving to an international exploration role based out of the UK. In 1988, he moved to Salt Lake City initially with BP Minerals and later with Kennecott-Rio Tinto. In 1991, John became director of the Mineral Deposit Research Unit (MDRU) at the University of British Columbia, managing exploration-related research for over twenty companies. In 1998, he joined Teck Corporation as Chief Geoscientist, and in late 2005 was appointed Vice President Technology and Development for Teck Resources Limited. In late 2012, he left Teck and is now Principal of PetraScience Consultants, an exploration, development and mining technology consultancy, and is the Wold Professor of Environmental Balance for Human Sustainability, a part time appointment at Cornell University.

John is the current Chair of Geoscience BC and the President of the Canada Mining Innovation Council, and a past-President of the Society of Economic Geologists. He is a on the Board of Genome BC and on advisory groups for Applied Science and the Clean Energy Research Centre at the University of British Columbia.

Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann (Professor of Mathematics and Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Geometric Analysis, University of Alberta)Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann

Dr. Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann received her M.Sc,, Ph.D., and habilitation, from Warsaw University in Warsaw, Poland. She taught at Warsaw University from 1970 to 1981 and held a visiting position at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas from 1981 to 1983. She came to the University of Alberta in 1983 and currently holds a Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Geometric Analysis.

Her interests lie in Banach space theory and asymptotic geometric analysis, and the interaction between these two streams of modern functional analysis. A large part of her work, including most recently, is in asymptotic theory of normed spaces, asymptotic convexity, and asymptotic non-limiting theory of random matrices; in high-dimensional probability, probabilistic aspects of convex bodies, large deviations, small ball probabilities and entropy estimates.

Dr. Tomczak-Jaegermann has won numerous awards for her research including the CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize in 2006, an invited address at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Berlin (1998), a Canada Council for the Arts Killam Research Fellowship (1997--99), the Krieger-Nelson Prize Lectureship of the Canadian Mathematical Society (2000), the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research, University of Alberta (2000), and the Sierpinski Medal of the Polish Mathematical Society and Warsaw University (2013). She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1996).

She has served on committees of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS), as well as on the Canada Council Killam Research Fellowship Committee, on the scientific board of BIRS, and on the Scientific Advisory Panel of the Fields Institute. She has also served as the first site director of PIMS at the University of Alberta.

For a complete list of PIMS’ Board of Directors, visit: http://www.pims.math.ca/pims-glance/board-directors.