PIMS - USaskatchewan Data Science Bootcamp

  • Start Date: 06/10/2019
  • End Date: 06/21/2019
Location: 

University of Saskatchewan

Description: 

Data science is an interdisciplinary field that combines perspectives from mathematics, statistics and computer science. The focus is to extract and communicate meaningful information from complex data using techniques that fall under the umbrella of these three disciplines. The scope of the field is expanding, as learning from data is common practice in all disciplines. With the increasing availability of data with wide ranging characteristics, there is now a high demand for data scientists. The proposed summer school will expose participants to some core areas of data science, including real data
analysis and hands-on training in software.

 

Bootcamp Topics:

 

  • Data Visualization
    (mathematical foundations for high-dimensional data visualization; large-scale
    network embedding algorithms; big data processing techniques for real-time
    interactive visualization; cartographic representations and storytelling with data;
    interactive data visualizations using Jupyter and Paraview).
  • Statistical Methods for High-throughput Data
    (multiple hypothesis testing; false discovery rate; q-value; generalized linear
    models; regularized regression methods; high-throughput data techniques,
    including gene expression, RNA-seq, and SNP array; software tools for handling
    high-throughput data).
  • Introduction to Machine Learning
    (classification; clustering and dimensionality reduction; Bayes prediction; neural
    network; deep learning; reinforcement learning; machine learning with R).
  • Data Science Case Studies
    (presentation of case studies based on real data; application of data science
    techniques; hands-on training to solve study-specific problems and reproduce
    results using Jupyter, Paraview or R)

 

Organizers:

Shahedul Khan, University of Saskatchewan, s.khan@usask.ca;

Longhai Li, University of Saskatchewan, longhai@math.usask.ca;

Juxin Liu, University of Saskatchewan, liu@math.usask.ca;

Annaliza McGillivray, University of Saskatchewan, mcgillivray@math.usask.ca;

Cindy Feng, University of Saskatchewan, cindy.feng@usask.ca;

Nathaniel Osgood, University of Saskatchewan, osgood@cs.usask.ca;

Debajyoti Mondal, University of Saskatchewan, d.mondal@usask.ca;

Lisa Lix, University of Manitoba, Lisa.Lix@umanitoba.ca;

Andrei Volodin, University of Regina, Andrei.Volodin@uregina.ca

 

Other Information: 

More details on this event will be made available soon.